Weekend in Photos

Good morning friends!

Hope you all had a good weekend and that your Monday isn’t too miserable. I just successfully replaced our water cooler jug – broken thumb and all – without spilling any water, so it’s safe to say I feel like a rock star this morning. Haha. It’s the little things πŸ™‚

Sorry about the very intermittent posting these past few weeks. It can mostly be chalked up to the aforementioned broken thumb, and the fact that using a computer mouse sucks big time. That all changes soon, though, because I’ve only got 2 days left before the cast comes off. Not that I’ve been keeping track…

chalkboard

Just imagine I took this picture this morning, and that it says 2 days πŸ˜‰ I actually do have things I’ve been wanting to post about…like that I registered for a big race in 2 weeks!! But more on that later!

20130826-093206.jpg

Just like last week, I kicked off my weekend with what is quickly becoming my favorite no-cook Friday night dinner: crackers, cheese, fruit & wine! Nutella might have made an appearance later in the evening πŸ˜‰ I also watched 4 more episodes of Orange is the New Black…only one left! Such a great show, I almost don’t want to watch the finale because I don’t want it to end.

20130826-093216.jpg

Saturday morning, I suffered through a very long run (my longest yet!)…I had a side cramp for the first 2 miles, but still exceeded my 4.75 mile goal and am hopefully on track to run 6.2 miles in 2 weeks. I followed it up with a protein smoothie: frozen mango, Chobani plain yogurt, vanilla Plant Fusion protein powder, and a little bit of almond milk.

As much as I love change, I realized this weekend that I’ve been following the same Saturday morning run + farmer’s market routine for almost 2 months straight now. It’s nice to carve out a little bit of “me” time every week!

20130826-093221.jpg

So off to the farmer’s market I went – I actually didn’t get too much stuff this week, since I went out for lunch a couple times last week and still had a lot of produce left. I did get some flowers for myself, and fresh eggs, which I then whipped up into an massive lunch with ONLY Farmer’s Market ingredients: scrambled egg + squash & eggplant + salsa.

20130826-093225.jpg

Lest you think I spend my entire weekends eating clean, running almost 5 miles, and being totally G-rated, I present to you: Saturday night. My friend Danny had an SNL-themed Pub Crawl for his birthday, and Yvette and I dressed up as the Delicious Dish/Schweddy Balls ladies (complete with chocolate balls made by Yvette!). We even found a Pete Schweddy no less than 1 hour into the night! Score! There were some amaazing costumes, our group was definitely quite a sight to see.

20130826-093250.jpg

I also decided to wear a few sharpies around my neck and let all my friends sign my cast, since it’s coming off soon anyway. My only rule was “no profanity, but if you must, write it on the underside“…. And of course, I ended up with a dick on the underside. But hey, I got a cute guy’s number too, so it all evens out πŸ˜‰

20130826-093230.jpg

Yesterday was probably one of the best Lazy Sunday/Sunday Fundays in recent memory. Most of the afternoon was spent on the patio at Burgers and Brew enjoying perfect weather and, well… burgers and brew. Haha. Followed by fro yo for dinner, another amazing episode of Breaking Bad, and N*Sync at the VMA’s…it was a good day.

Just a few more days and then I get a 3-day weekend! Even so, I hate Labor Day.. it always marked the end of summer throughout childhood. Time to soak up these last days of summer!

Do you have any routines that you stick to every day or every week?

What did you think of the VMA’s?

16 thoughts on “Weekend in Photos

  1. Everyone needs a little dick on the underside once in a while. I don’t know exactly what that means, but just go with it.

    Also, I need to be friends with your SNL crew. Best idea ever. Aaaand I need in on the wine & cheese dinners. Where’s my invite?

  2. Congrats on your runs! I think you will be able to run those 6 miles with no problem! And you will probably feel lighter without your cast, I imagine πŸ™‚ I need to get on your cheese/crackers/wine/fruit meal for friday night. I love that!

    • Oh man, running with the cast has been pretty awful. It is so tight and sweaty and my thumb gets swollen! #TMI haha. I quite like your pizza + IPA dinners too… can we just alternate those 2 meals for the rest of forever?

  3. I’m interested to see what my routine will look like in NY! Probably exercise and avoiding the humidity somehow or accepting it πŸ˜‰ love the theme of the pub crawl!

  4. I love everything about your weekend – cheese and wine, farmer’s market, beer – except for the cast! Can’t wait for you to get it off πŸ˜‰ And can you believe that I didn’t watch the VMA’s? I know… I did Google Miley’s performance after everyone was talking about it. I actually expected much worse – for a pop star child, it didn’t really surprise me!

Leave a Comment