Cherry Salsa, Two Ways

I have a bone to pick with major news outlets.

NBC is getting enough flack from most corners of the US during these Olympics, so I’ll leave them be…EXCEPT to mention that starting all the best sports at 10:30/11pm is way too late and you are totally running into my precious sleep time.

No, no. My beef is with news websites. I consider myself a pretty well-informed person: I follow many news channels on Twitter, and, thanks to the hounding of my favorite Global Studies professor in college, my homepage will always be set to CNN World. This week, I had to unfollow all those news sources and I am afraid to open my web browser!

Why would LATimes.com run “Breaking News” banners all over their site carrying an Olympic result that none of their West Coast viewers will see on TV for well over 9 hours?

This has happened to me two days in a row now, with both the men and women’s team gymnastics finals results. The first culprit was LA Times.com, while the other happened to be a “friend” on Facebook posting a New York Times article.

WTF mate? Double u, tee, eff.

To top it all off, I don’t usually even get to a TV until 9:30pm anyway, because I don’t have one at my apartment. So my days have been going like this:

11am: Have huge result of my FAVORITE SPORT get spoiled.
2pm: Watch replays online of what I didn’t get to see the night before
6:15pm: Get home from work; beg people to let me come over and hog their TV or to come with me to a bar and watch.
9:15pm: End up just waiting for T-Man to get off work and take me to his house or a bar
9:30pm: T-Man asks, “Are you really just going to watch the Olympics again?”
9:45pm: I turn on Olympics, and have missed most of it, so I spend 1.5 hours watching a sport I already know the results for.

Lather, rinse, repeat.

Woe is me.

#firstworldproblems

These salsas are what I made on Sunday, the one day that no results were spoiled for me. I sat in peace at home, scheming up ways to use up the huge bag of cherries I found on sale at Safeway, until I went to a bar with a friend and watched swimming and gymnastics competitions for which I did not know the result.

Aaaaaaand the cherry on top of a perfect day (hee hee, I made a punny)?  The salsas were delicious.

“Traditional” Cherry Salsa
Tangy, with flavors traditional to pico de gallo

1 cup cherries, chopped (measured after chopping)
1/4 cup red onion, diced
1-2 tbs cilantro, chopped
juice of 1/2 lime
jalapeno (optional)

Mix ingredients in a bowl and enjoy.

Cherry Salsa with Balsamic & Basil
Sweet, delicious warm or cold, with a punch of basil

1 cup cherries, chopped (measured after chopping)
~1/3 cup balsamic vinegar
5 large basil leaves, cut into strips (chiffonaded)

Put vinegar in a small saucepan at medium heat. I added just enough that the vinegar covered the bottom of the 6 inch pan. Once it starts steaming and slightly simmering, add 1/2 of chopped cherries and stir to coat. Turn down heat to low and cook until balsamic is reduced (probably not more than about 5 minutes).

Add to a bowl with remaining chopped cherries and as much basil as is desired. Add more basil for garnish if desired.

And someone get this girl a TV!

One thought on “Cherry Salsa, Two Ways

Leave a Comment